Big Bash League, Cricket, featured, t20 cricket

Big Bash League full squads update: Every player for BBL|08

The Big Bash League is under a week away, so there’s no better time to get up to speed on who’ll be playing at which club in 2018-19.
With an extended 59-match season set to extend into the middle of February, there is more cricket than you could poke a stick at, but whether it’s for your fantasy team or your own sanity, you will know about every single player with our handy guide to the teams.
Here you’ll find every Big Bash player, coach, captain and import as the season draws closer.
Adelaide Strikers
Travis Head (c), Wes Agar, Alex Carey, Michael Cormack, David Grant, Colin Ingram (South Africa), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Ben Laughlin, Jake Lehmann, Michael Neser, Liam O’Connor, Matt Short, Peter Siddle, Billy Stanlake, Cameron Valente, Jake Weatherald, Jonathan Wells, Nick Winter
Coach: Jason Gillespie
Captain: Travis Head
Imports: Colin Ingram (South Africa), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan)
The Adelaide Strikers have built a strong squad as they attempt to go back-to-back. Rashid Khan and Colin Ingram return as the imports, while local stars Travis Head and Billy Stanlake will lead the way batting and bowling respectively.
Only Travis Head and Alex Carey are expected to spend time out of the time due to international cricket.
Brisbane Heat
Chris Lynn (c), Max Bryant, Joe Burns, Ben Cutting, Brendan Doggett, Sam Heazlett, Matt Kuhnemann, Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Lalor, Chris Lynn, James Pattinson, Jimmy Peirson, Jack Prestwidge, Mujeeb Ur Rahman (Afghanistan), Matt Renshaw, Alex Ross, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson
Coach: Chris Lynn
Captain: Brendon McCullum
Imports: Brendon McCullum (New Zealand), Mujeeb Ur Rahman (Afghanistan)
(AAP Image/Dan Peled)
In a late swap, Chris Lynn has taken over the captaincy from fellow ‘bash brother’ Brendon McCullum. The Heat look to be a little short on depth, but on their day, will challenge any side in the competition with a barrage of big hitting in the batting line-up.
Mujeeb Ur Rahman will be the one to watch, with the young Afghanistani spinner likely to prove a handful.
Hobart Hurricanes
Matthew Wade (c), Jofra Archer (England), George Bailey (c), Johan Botha, Jake Doran, James Faulkner, Caleb Jewell, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Simon Milenko, Tymal Mills (England), David Moody, Tim Paine, Tom Rogers, Clive Rose, D’Arcy Short, Aaron Summers
Coach: Adam Griffith, Ben Rohrer
Captain: Matthew Wade
Imports: Jofra Archer (West Indies), Tymal Mills (England)
The Hurricanes are another club who have made a late captaincy change, with Matthew Wade taking over from George Bailey. Both players will be in their best XI, with Jofra Archer and Tymal Mills also back for another season.
Melbourne Renegades
Aaron Finch (c), Cameron Boyce, Dan Christian, Tom Cooper, Zak Evans, Harry Gurney (England), Marcus Harris, Mackenzie Harvey, Jon Holland, Tim Ludeman, Joe Mennie, Mohammad Nabi (Afghanistan), Kane Richardson, Usman Khan Shinwari (Pakistan), Will Sutherland, Chris Tremain, Beau Webster, Cameron White, Jack Wildermuth
Coach: Andrew McDonald
Captain: Aaron Finch
Imports: Mohammad Nabi (Afghanistan), Usman Khan Shinwari (Pakistan) – replaced by Harry Gurney (England)
The Renegades, when at full strength, will be a very difficult side to stop. Aaron Finch will lead the way with the bat, while they have plenty of talent in their batting line-up.
Dan Christian will be a handy all-round pick-up for the club, while Mohammad Nabi is also back.
The attack is lead by second import Usman Khan Shinwari, however, he will be replaced by Harry Gurney mid-season.
Melbourne Stars
Glenn Maxwell (c), Michael Beer, Jackson Bird, Scott Boland, Liam Bowe, Dwayne Bravo (West Indies), Jackson Coleman, Travis Dean, Ben Dunk, Seb Gotch, Evan Gulbis, Peter Handscomb, Sandeep Lamichhane (Nepal), Nic Maddinson, Jonathan Merlo, Matt Parkinson (England), Marcus Stoinis, Daniel Worrall, Adam Zampa
Coach: Stephen Fleming
Captain: Glenn Maxwell
Imports: Sandeep Lamichane (Nepal), Matt Parkinson (England)
The Stars have gone down the path of having Glenn Maxwell as captain. He leads the men in green and will have plenty of pressure on to go big in the runs department. Dwayne Bravo is also a handy pick-up, however, there is little depth across the rest of the squad.
Ben Dunk will need to be back at his best after a lean return 12 months ago.
(AAP Image/Rob Blakers)
Perth Scorchers
Mitchell Marsh (c), Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Cameron Green, Josh Inglis, Matthew Kelly, Michael Klinger, Shaun Marsh, Joel Paris, Usman Qadir (Pakistan), Jhye Richardson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Sam Whiteman, David Willey (England)
Coach: Adam Voges
Captain: Mitchell Marsh
Imports: Usman Qadir (Pakistan), David Willey (England)
The Scorchers season is very much up in the air due to international cricket possibilities. All of Mitchell Marsh, Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Shaun Marsh, Jhye Richardson and Andrew Tye could miss some BBL cricket at different points throughout the season.
However, when at full strength, they are going to be very difficult to stop, with David Willey back again and the experience of Michael Klinger to lead from the front.
Sydney Sixers
Moises Henriques (c), Sean Abbott, Juston Avendano, Tom Curran (England), Joe Denly (England), Ben Dwarshuis, Jack Edwards, Mickey Edwards, Dan Fallins, Daniel Hughes, Nathan Lyon, Peter Nevill, Stephen O’Keefe, Josh Philippe, Lloyd Pope, Jordan Silk, Henry Thornton, Greg West
Coach: Greg Shipperd
Captain: Moises Henriques
Imports: Tom Curran (England), Joe Denly (England)
The Sixers are looking a little on the weak side. Moises Henriques will need to go big with bat and ball, while imports Tom Curran and Joe Denly need to provide plenty.
If they can find patches of form from everyone at the same time, they stand a chance, but it’s going to be tough to compete with the big teams.

Sports opinion delivered daily 

Sydney Thunder
Shane Watson (c), Fawad Ahmed, Jos Buttler (England) Pat Cummins, Anton Devcich (New Zealand) Callum Ferguson, Ryan Gibson, Chris Green, Liam Hatcher, Chris Jordan (England), Usman Khawaja, Jay Lenton, Nathan McAndrew, Arjun Nair, Kurtis Patterson, Sam Rainbird, Joe Root (England), Daniel Sams, Gurinder Sandhu, Jason Sangha
Coach: Shane Bond
Captain: Shane Watson
Imports: Jos Buttler (England), Joe Root (England) – replaced by Anton Devcich (New Zealand) and Chris Jordan (England)
The Thunder’s biggest problem may well be settling on a squad, given both of their imports will change mid-season as Jos Buttler and Joe Root head off for international cricket, with Anton Devcich and Chris Jordan joining the squad.
Outside of that, Shane Watson still has the ability to do plenty of damage, Pat Cummins (when not playing international cricket) is one of the best bowlers in the world and Usman Khawaja has proven himself again and again.
Their domestic talent is youthful, but they should improve on last year.